Skip To Main Content

William H. Izlar Poetry Contest Winners


Prizes are given annually for the William H. Izlar, Jr. Poetry Contest. The contest, open to all BFA students, was established in 2014 thanks to the generosity of the Mary Ryan and Henry G. Kuhrt Foundation in memory of Ben Franklin Academy's friend and longtime Overseer, Bill Izlar. Bill was a lifelong lover of poetry.

Typed poems of up to thirty lines in either free or formed verse are eligible for submission. Students may submit up to two poems for consideration. This year's entries were judged by a panel of BFA faculty, and winners were announced during National Poetry Week in late April.


Six students placed in the William H. Izlar, Jr. Poetry Contest on April 24.
First Place - Sophie Braxton
Second Place - Megan Lee Stewart
Third Place Winners:
Adele M.
Samantha P.
Emma Louise T.
Ava H.

The top two winners received monetary prizes and the third place winners received book awards.


    Your Support Matters

    Make a GifT